Skip to Content
Poster for Space Is the Place
Watch trailer for Space Is the Place Watch trailer

Space Is the Place

Opens on July 20

Director: John Coney Run Time: 82 min. Release Year: 1974

Starring: Christopher Brooks, June Tyson, Marshall Allen, Raymond Johnson, Sun Ra

Screenwriters: Sun Ra, Joshua Smith

Producer: Jim Newman

Co-Presented with Vidiots Community Partner Monkeypaw Productions

Join us as community programming partner Monkeypaw Productions kick off its series Afro-Futurism in Cinema with this screening of Space Is the Place.

Avant-jazz mystic Sun Ra brought his pioneering Afrofuturist vision to the screen with this film version of his concept album. It’s a wild, kaleidoscopic whirl of science fiction, sharp social commentary, goofy pseudo-blaxploitation stylistics, and thrilling concert performance, in which the pharaonic Ra and his Arkestra lead an intergalactic movement to resettle the Black race on their utopian space colony.


powered by Filmbot